Retirement.

 

Yesterday, I got home from work and felt like being productive. After showering (I usually shower after work, in the middle of the day because I find it relaxing), I sat down on the couch and read all the blogs that I follow. After that, I decided to try something that I have been putting off for well over a year- setting up my retirement for CDC. CDC is the respite agency that I work under, even though technically I am employed by the two families that utilize my services. I work with two (technically four, I suppose.. the other two are not through this agency) children/teenagers that have disabilities.  I have been doing this since 2009, but only last year did I realize that I can create a 401K and start saving for retirement in this way. I did not want to call and ask about it though, due to my dread of using the telephone.

But yesterday, I sat down and searched on the internet. I thought, maybe I could avoid talking to anybody entirely. Turns out, I could, and I’ve been putting it off for absolutely no reason. Think of all the money I could have saved by now! I quickly realized that I had no idea what I was doing, so my parents had to help, but now I am saving more for retirement. And I was productive for once. AND I still had to call the company, for something unrelated. Go figure.

Leave a comment